There is always a risk when driving and the law tries to make people responsible for their part in any damages that may occur. If you drive in Oregon, you know that you are required to carry a certain amount of insurance in order to cover property damage, personal injury, and any other damages that arise from an auto accident.
At Evans Insurance Agency, we work with every client to find out their individual circumstances so we can find the best policy for them. We will help you compare policies so that you can choose one that has everything you want in your price range.
If You Are In an Accident
While we all protect against it, nobody wants to think they or their loved ones will be in an accident. An accident is always stressful, even with minimal damage, and can be life-changing.
There are rules you have to follow when you are in a collision. You will always need to file a Traffic Insurance and Insurance Report with the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles if you are ever in an accident in Oregon, in which you report the name of your insurance company and your policy number to prove you are insured
In Oregon, you are required to carry certain minimal levels of insurance. These include $25,000 for bodily injury for one person, with a $50,000 limit per accident. You need to have a property damage limit of $20,000 per accident. The personal injury protection minimal limit is $15,000 per person.
If you are in an accident with an uninsured motorist, you will be required to have a $25,000 bodily injury limit for one person with a $50,000 limit for the accident. If you believe these limits are too low, you can always obtain a policy with higher limits. If the damages are more than your limits, you could end up paying out of your own pocket.
If you have any questions or want to explore your options, contact Evans Insurance Agency today.